KEARNEY, Neb. -- The National Weather Service has issued multiple severe thunderstorm warnings and statements for counties in central Nebraska.

A severe thunderstorm warning has been put out for Red Willow, Buffalo, Phelps, Kearney, and Dawson Counties until 5:00 p.m.

There are also severe thunderstorm statements for Red Willow, Furnas, Kearney, and Phelps Counties until 5:00 p.m.

NWS said for protection, move to an interior room on the lowest floor of a building. Continous cloud-to-ground lightning is occurring with the storms. Move indoors immediately, if thunder can be heard, lightning is close enough to strike.

UPDATE: Boone and Madison County are in a severe thunderstorm warning as well until 7:30 p.m.