NEBRASKA — It appears that Republicans have captured a filibuster-proof majority in the unicameral.

It takes a 33-vote super-majority to overcome a filibuster in the 49-member, officially non-partisan legislature.

In central Nebraska, Dave Murman of Glenvil easily won re-election in District 38, which includes Clay, Nuckolls, Webster, Franklin, Harlan, Furnas, and Red Willow counties. Murman, a Republican, defeated challenger Tyler Cappel of Arapahoe by 30% of the vote.

Loren Lippincott of Central City won election to District 34, which includes Merrick, Hamilton, and Nance counties and part of Hall County. He replaces term-limited Sen. Curt Friesen. Lippincott, a Republican, beat Michael Reimers of Central City by 35% of the vote.