News release:

[Columbus]—The Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services has announced that it is extending Phase III of the Directed Health Measures (DHMs) for the four counties of the East Central District Health Department (ECDHD) until August 31. State and local health departments will continue to evaluate progress, but at this time Boone, Colfax, Nance and Platte counties will continue in Phase III. More detailed information about the Phase III DHMs can be found on the ECDHD website at

Since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, East Central District Health Department (ECDHD) has worked closely with medical professionals in the jurisdiction to offer strategies to a variety of sectors to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. Attached please find two of the most recent of these joint communications, one that was sent to school superintendents in the four counties, and the other an OP/ED that is meant to serve as an open letter to persons in the four-county jurisdiction.